About me

In 2016, I was awarded a postdoctoral researcher fellowship by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science and am currently working as a research scientist at the IIJ Innovation Institute Inc research lab.

I completed my PhD (December '16) in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Northwestern University. During my PhD, I was advised by Professor Fabián Bustamante as a member of AquaLab research group. I received my Master of Science degree in Computer Science in fall of 2013 and my Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Engineering with a minor in Japanese Language and Culture from Northwestern University in spring of 2009.

Research

Areas of interest: Networking; distributed systems; Internet measurement; broadband networks; peer-to-peer systems.

In addition to the works listed on my Publications and Projects pages, please check out my posts on the AquaLab blog, A View from the Edge, to see some of my research.

Previous experience

Professional activities

  • Sigcomm '18 IoT S\&P workshop PC member
  • ITC 30 TPC member
  • IMC '17 Shadow PC member

Teaching experience

Adjunct professor
  • Introduction to Computer Systems
    • Course based on Computer Systems: A Programmer’s Perspective
    • Winter '16
Teaching assistant
  • Introduction to Computer Systems
    • Spring '11, Spring '12
  • Distributed Systems
    • Co-wrote/designed original course projects for Distributed Systems based on Kademlia in Go
    • Winter '13, Winter '14, Sping '15, Spring '16
  • Operating Systems
    • Fall '13, Fall '15

Internships

During the summer of 2015, I worked with Renata Teixeira at MUSE, Inria Paris-Rocquencourt.

I interned at Telefonica I+D during the summer of 2013, working with Rade Stanojevic.

I interned at the Internet Initiative Japan Innovation Institute with Kenjiro Cho during the summer of 2012.

Personal interests

Hockey

I've been an avid fan of the sport since a very young age. My parents say the first clue was the toddler pretending to skate around the kitchen holding a broom. Goaltender has been my preferred position since about 8 years old, but will take any ice time I can find.

Music

I love listening to and playing music. I play a few instruments fairly well (percussion, drums) and a bunch of others not well at all.

Racquetball

I also enjoy playing racquetball, always looking for other people that want to play!